The Restaurant at the end of the Universe

“To summarize the summary of the summary: people are a problem,”- Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe.

In many ways, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy confirms my suspicion that aliens do not want to contact us because we might be just too dumb and insignificant to matter in the grand scheme of things.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe or TREU- the second book in the HGTTG series- is good. It is, however, pale in comparison to the first one. I think that HGG sets the benchmark for bizarreness a little too high.

TREU, like its predecessor, is quick, clever and thought-provoking. It is one of those books where you read a line and go,” oh wow! That was neat!” But, it lacks surprise. TREU doesn’t shock because readers already expect a logic-defying plot and weird set of aliens trying to figure out the mysteries of the Universe.

Be prepared to reach the end of the Universe and Time. To a place known for apocalyptic atmosphere and a dinner that is sentient. Zaphold Beeblebrox, the ex-President of the Universe, is  the central character of the story. He has some of the coolest lines in the book, or indeed, in the Universe.

This is what he says about himself:

“I’m up to here with cool, okay? I am so amazingly cool you could keep a side of meat in me for a month. I am so hip I have difficulty seeing over my pelvis.”

― Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

How can one possibly beat the I-am-so-hip-I-have-difficulty-seeing-over-my –pelvis line. One of my goals in life is to use this line in an actual conversation.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is depressed or suffering from an acute case of writer’s block or more precisely, depressed writers (as if there is any other kind).

Ending notes– This top-notch take on religion is absolute perfection.

“Your God person puts an apple tree in the middle of a garden and says, do what you like, guys, oh, but don’t eat the apple. Surprise surprise, they eat it and he leaps out from behind a bush shouting “Gotcha”. It wouldn’t have made any difference if they hadn’t eaten it.’

‘Why not?’

‘Because if you’re dealing with somebody who has the sort of mentality which likes leaving hats on the pavement with bricks under them you know perfectly well they won’t give up. They’ll get you in the end.”

― Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe.

